Edit Order Items

Learn how to edit items in an order from the vendor dashboard.

On this page

In this guide, you'll learn how to edit items in an order. This includes adding, updating, or deleting items.

How Order Edits Work

Using the vendor dashboard, you can edit an order to:

  • Add a new item to the order.
  • Edit the quantity of an existing item in the order.
  • Delete an item from the order.

Order edit requested section

When you request an order edit, the changes aren't saved on the order until the order edit is confirmed. There are two ways to confirm an order edit request:

  1. The customer reviews the order edit. If they accept the order edit and an additional payment is required, they'll have to authorize that payment. The customer can also reject the order edit.
  2. Or you force-confirm the order edit. You can then handle any outstanding amount.

Request an Order Edit

You can only request one order edit at a time. If you need to make additional changes, you'll have to cancel the current order edit and request a new one, or force-confirm the current order edit.

To request an order edit:

  1. Open the order details page.
  2. In the Summary section, click the three-dot menu.
  3. Choose Edit Order from the dropdown.
  4. In the form that opens:
    1. To add an item:
      1. Click Add items.
      2. In the list that opens, check the items you want to add.
      3. When you're done, click Save. The item will be added under Items with the New badge. You can also update its quantity.
    2. To update an item's quantity:
      1. Find the item under Items.
      2. Change the value for the qty input. This adds the Modified badge to the item.
    3. To duplicate an item:
      1. Find the item under Items.
      2. Click the three-dot menu.
      3. Choose Duplicate from the dropdown. A new item with the same details will be added under Items with the New badge.
    4. To delete an item:
      1. Find the item under Items.
      2. Click the three-dot menu.
      3. Choose Remove from the dropdown.
        • If you remove a newly added item, the item will be removed from the list. Otherwise, the item will have a Removed badge and you can't edit its quantity.
        • To undo removing an item in the order, click the three-dot menu next to it and choose Undo from the dropdown.
    5. Optionally enter a note for the customer to see in the Note field.
    6. If you want to send a notification to the customer about the order edit, check the Send notifications toggle.
  5. When you're done, click Confirm Edit.
  6. Confirm requesting the order edit by clicking Continue in the pop-up.

Order edit form

Once requested, a new Order edit requested section will show at the top of the order's details page with the edit's details.


Force Confirm an Order Edit

As mentioned at the beginning of this guide, the customer must confirm the order edit for the changes to be saved on the order. However, you can force-confirm an order edit if you need to make the changes immediately, or if the customer delegates you to do so.

Force-confirming an order edit makes irreversible changes to the order.

To force confirm an order edit:

  1. Open the order's details page.
  2. Click Force confirm at the bottom of the Order edit requested section.

This applies the changes to the order edit. If there are any additional payments required, you'll have to mark the order as paid or share a payment link manually.

Allocating New Items

For new items, you may see an Allocate Items button indicating that you need to allocate them manually from a stock location. Refer to Manage Details to learn how to allocate order items manually.

Handle Outstanding Amounts after Order Edit

After the order edit is confirmed, you can check if there are any outstanding amounts (to be captured from the customer or returned) in the Summary section.

To handle outstanding amounts by refunding or capturing the payment, refer to Manage Payments.

Fulfilling New Items

If the order edit added new items to the order, they'll be shown in the Unfulfilled Items section after the order edit is confirmed. You can then fulfill them as explained in Manage Fulfillments.


Cancel an Order Edit Request

If an order edit request hasn't been confirmed yet, you can cancel it.

To cancel an order edit request:

  1. Open the order details page.
  2. Click Cancel at the bottom of the Order edit requested section.

The order edit will be canceled and the changes won't be saved on the order. The customer also can't confirm the order edit anymore.